Founded in 1973 as the Steinbeck Research Center, the Center is now the largest Steinbeck archive in the world. In 1997, the Center was renamed the Martha Heasley Cox Center for Steinbeck Studies in honor of its founder, a professor of English at San Jose State. In 2000, Professor Cox endowed the Steinbeck Fellows program, which today provides one-year $10,000 fellowships to help writers complete a book project. Two or three Steinbeck Fellows are selected each year from disciplines including fiction, nonfiction, and Steinbeck studies. Applications are due on or around the first of January, and awards are announced in April.

Ends on January 2, 2018
The Steinbeck Fellowship, given annually to two to three recipients, is one-year residency at San José State University which includes a stipend of $10,000. Fellows give one public reading each semester and must live in the Bay Area during the academic year. Submit a project proposal, résumé/CV, writing sample (up to 25 pages), and the email addresses of three references. The application system will prompt your references to upload their letters of recommendation by January 31. 

There is no entry fee. 

The fellowship is named in honor of author John Steinbeck and is guided by his lifetime of work in literature, the media, and environmental activism. Currently, SJSU offers one-year fellowships in Steinbeck scholarship and in creative writing, including fiction, drama, creative nonfiction, and biography. Applications in poetry will not be accepted. In awarding fellowships, the selection committee considers the quality of the candidate's proposal and any factors that would lead to expectations of future publication and other achievement. The creative writing fellowship does not require that there be any direct connection between Steinbeck's works and that of the applicant. Applicants may not be enrolled in an academic degree program during the fellowship period.

Application deadline is January 2. Awards are announced in April.

Questions? Contact Nicholas P. Taylor, Director of the Center for Steinbeck Studies, at